Is your driver still conforming?

Most modern drivers have at least one weight at the bottom of the head and can be adjusted to suit the
players preferences ie. Loft, lie, draw, fade, etc. But what happens when one or more of these weights
are no longer there, either because the player has purposely removed it or it has become dislodged due
to wear and tear.

Rule 4-2a states that “During a stipulated round, the playing characteristics of a club must not be
purposely changed by adjustment or by any other means”. What this means is that after starting a round
of golf, NO adjustments may be made to any club. This includes altering the position of a moveable
weight, removing or adding weight, adjusting the clubs loft, lie, etc.

Q What happens when a drivers head becomes loose during the course of play or if a weight
from a driver is moved, damaged or detached?

A If the head becomes loose in the normal course of play or a weight is accidently moved, damaged or
detached during a stipulated round, the club can be used in this state or be repaired, see Rule 4-3a. If
the weight was purposely moved, removed, damaged or detached during a stipulated round then the
player is in breach of rule 4-2a.

What if more than one weight is missing — see Callaway Razr Fit driver?

According to correspondence received from the R&A “If one weight screw was missing, then the club
would still be conforming. However, if both were missing, then the club would effectively have a "hole
through the head" and, as such, it would be in breach of Appendix Il, 4d of the Rules of Golf”.

Charles Howell DQ for playing with a non-conforming driver

Charles Howell Ill, who was tied for 10th place at the Wyndham Championship after rounds of 66-68,
was disqualified before the start of the third round for using a non-conforming driver.

The latch that covers the toe section on the sole of Howell’s TaylorMade’s SLDR driver came loose while
he was hitting balls prior to the second round, and Howell proceeded to play Round 2 without the latch
on the driver.

Without the latch, the SLDR has an opened area in the front of the sole that the USGA has deemed non-
conforming.

Had the latch come loose during the course of play, Howell would not been DQ’d, as long as he
reapplied the latch to the driver head before the start of Round 3.
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